REST API Design Rulebook – a waste of e-ink

REST API Design RulebookREST API Design Rulebook by Mark Masse
My rating: 1 of 5 stars

The book tries to establish a set of rules for REST interfaces – I’m OK with that, it’s what its title says. When you define rules, you take an opinion, that’s fine. And most of what is defined as a rule is something I’d support as a good practice. A possible benefit of this rule book would be to provide some compact, memorizable, and clear guidance on good practices.

But then there’s this obsession about WRML.

WRML is a proposed way of defining the content types and schemas of REST APIs – see http://www.wrml.org/about. And what do we find as the sole literature on WRML: the REST API Design Rulebook. WRML has about zero industry acceptance; I never heard of it, and it does not even have a wikipedia page. And yet the REST API Design Rulebook puts it into the heart and center of every halfway advanced topic. Now a “rule” that is centered around an obscure standard proposal is totally void, and so this book is a simple waste of e-ink (even if that was its only fault, which it isn’t).

About

Christian is a software architect/developer. He lives in Germany, reads a lot, and likes cycling.

Posted in Uncategorized
2 comments on “REST API Design Rulebook – a waste of e-ink
  1. amyduncan99 says:

    I agree that the book is just a waste of e-ink because as you mentioned I’ve never heard of WRML to have a wikipedia page either and it really does have zero industry acceptance.So the book is completely useless.

  2. Al says:

    I have to agree. I couldn’t really wrap my head around the WRML concepts in the book, so I started googling. I found nothing of value and was wondering why it featured so prominently until I hit this blog post. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

